1530 The Alameda, Suite 115, San Jose, CA 95126

Blog
Email UsEmail Us

FREE CONSULTATION

408-246-5500

Search

FREE CONSULTATION

408-246-5500

Providing legal counsel to San Jose and the Bay Area for over 30 years in the areas of criminal defense, personal injury, employment and disability law.
Group Photo
Se habla español|Chúng tôi nói tiêng Việt

Defending Against Hit-and-Run Charges in California

Posted on in Criminal Defense

San Jose CA hit and run lawyerNobody plans for a car accident to happen, so when it does, it can be overwhelming and confusing, especially if you are not sure what to do when you get into an accident. The one thing you should never do if you are in an accident is leave the scene of the accident without exchanging information with the other driver. If you do, you could be charged with a hit-and-run offense, which can carry some pretty serious consequences. Hit-and-run charges are no joke and should be handled by a skilled lawyer who has experience defending against these charges.

Felony and Misdemeanor Hit-and-Run Charges

There are two different types of hit-and-run charges in California: felony and misdemeanor charges. You can be charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run if all of the following were present:

  • You left the scene of an accident;
  • You did not leave any information to the other party or parties involved; and
  • Another person’s property was damaged in the accident.

A hit-and-run charge does not usually become a felony until another party is injured or killed in the accident and you leave the scene without leaving any identifying information. Even if there is no damage to anyone’s property or no bodily injury, you can still be charged with leaving the scene of an accident, though the offense will most likely result in a fine.

Consequences of Hit-and-Run Charges

As expected, charges for a misdemeanor hit-and-run are significantly less than those of a felony hit-and-run. If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor hit-and-run, you will be subject to up to a year in county jail and up to $1,000 in fines or both. If you are found guilty of a felony hit-and-run, you will be subject to two to four years in state prison an fines between $1,000 and $10,000 or a combination of both.

A Knowledgeable San Jose, CA Hit-and-Run Defense Attorney Can Help

Sometimes, you may not even know that you are committing a hit-and-run, and what may seem like no big deal suddenly turns into a criminal charge. At the Jachimowicz Law Group, we know that hit-and-run charges can apply, even if you were unaware that property damage occurred or you were afraid for your safety. Our skilled San Jose, CA hit-and-run defense lawyers will help you form a solid defense that is tailored to your specific situation, aiming for the best result possible. Call our office today at 408-246-5500 to schedule your free consultation.

Sources:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20001.&lawCode=VEH

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20002.&lawCode=VEH#

 

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

SPEAK DIRECTLY WITH OUR EXPERIENCED SAN JOSE ATTORNEYS

TOLL FREE

408-246-5500

OR

800-576-4210
Back to Top