1530 The Alameda, Suite 115, San Jose, CA 95126

Blog
Email UsEmail Us

FREE CONSULTATION

408-246-5500

Search

FREE CONSULTATION

408-246-5500

Providing legal counsel to San Jose and the Bay Area for over 30 years in the areas of criminal defense, personal injury, employment and disability law.
Group Photo
Se habla español|Chúng tôi nói tiêng Việt

How Reckless Driving Convictions in California Can Affect You

Posted on in Criminal Defense

San Jose CA reckless driving charges lawyerSome people may think that a reckless driving charge is no big deal, but in reality, a reckless driving charge can seriously impact your life. Not only can you face criminal charges for reckless driving, but you can also face license suspension, fines and an increase in your insurance rates. Even though reckless driving is still a traffic offense, it has much more serious consequences than a simple speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

What is Reckless Driving?

California VEH 23103 is the portion of the vehicle code that deals with reckless driving. According to the vehicle code, reckless driving occurs when a person is driving a vehicle “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” You can be charged with reckless driving in a variety of situations. These can including:

  • Excessive speeding;
  • Weaving;
  • DUI;
  • Street racing; and
  • Hit-and-run accidents.

Sentencing for Reckless Driving

In California, a basic reckless driving charge is a misdemeanor and can result in a minimum of five days and a maximum of 90 days in prison and a fine between $145 and $1,000. If the reckless driving incident resulted in death or bodily injury or you have a prior reckless driving charge on your record, those penalties will most likely increase. 

Other Consequences

In addition to criminal charges and fines, you could also face other consequences. When you are convicted of reckless driving, you will accumulate two points on your California driver’s license. Those two points will not result in you losing your license, but if you accumulate four points in a 12-month period, six points in 24 months or 8 points in 36 months, you will have your license revoked or suspended.

In addition to that, your insurance company will most likely see you as a high risk driver if you are convicted of reckless driving. This can raise your car insurance premiums drastically if your insurance company still wants to cover you.

Are You Facing Reckless Driving Charges? A San Jose, CA Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer Can Help

It does not matter where you are when you are driving in an erratic way -- you can be charged with reckless driving just about anywhere. Not only can a reckless driving charge set you back financially, you could face a license suspension if you have additional driving infractions. At the Jachimowicz Law Group, we have experience defending clients with reckless driving charges, and we fight for alternative sentences whenever they are possible. Contact our firm today to discuss your case with an experienced San Jose, CA reckless driving charges attorney. Call our office at 408-246-5500 to set up a free consultation.

Sources:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=23103.

https://www.dmv.org/safety-laws/reckless-driving.php

 

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

SPEAK DIRECTLY WITH OUR EXPERIENCED SAN JOSE ATTORNEYS

TOLL FREE

408-246-5500

OR

800-576-4210
Back to Top