What you need to know about second-offense DUI charges

On Behalf of | Mar 15, 2024 | Criminal Defense |

Driving under the influence has significant consequences. If you face a second DUI charge, you must understand the potential for additional penalties.

Knowing the laws and your defense options helps you navigate this challenging situation.


California law states that the limit for blood alcohol concentration is 0.08%. If you have a BAC at or above this limit while operating a vehicle, you could face severe penalties, especially if it is your second offense. The court takes repeat offenses more seriously and may give harsher consequences.

Penalties for a second DUI conviction may include:

  • Misdemeanor probation for three to five years
  • Fines of $390 up to nearly $2000
  • Second-offender DUI school that is 18-30 months in length
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed for one year
  • Jail Time from 96 hours to a maximum sentence of one year

Consequences can vary depending on the details of your case.

Potential defenses

While facing a second DUI charge can be daunting, you still have the right to defend yourself. Several potential defenses may apply to your case. You can challenge the validity of the traffic stop or arrest procedure. You can question the accuracy and reliability of the field sobriety tests. You may be able to prove that you were not driving under the influence or show that the arresting officer did not follow the correct procedures. Your defense depends on the specifics of your case.

Facing a second DUI charge in California can have serious consequences, making it essential to know your rights and options.